Skip Navigation

About Us

About the Toledo Urban Federal Credit Union

Toledo’s first community development credit union, The Toledo Urban Federal Credit Union opened its doors to serve the central city community on July 21, 1996. We envisioned the need for our community, like all others, to gain control of the economic dollars circulating within our community. Any thriving community turns their resource over at least five to ten times before it leaves the community.

The Toledo Urban Federal Credit Union has exceeded our wildest expectations. It was named one of the fastest growing financial institutions of its kind in the country. Our membership is rapidly increasing with assets of over 6 million and growing…Economic Strength.

Our Mission

The purpose of the Toledo Urban Federal Credit Union is to achieve economic empowerment through education for its members to be active partners in the community, and to operate in a profitable and financially sound matter.


Bishop Duane C. Tisdale
Bishop Edward T. Cook
Bishop Robert A. Culp
Min. Rick Hunter
Suzette Cowell

Alto King Jr.
Edwin Mabrey
Ken Anderson
James Cobham
Roosevelt Gant

Honorary Founder
Rev. Dr. John E. Roberts

Key Staff

Suzette Cowell

Assistant Manager/Lending
Dionne Furr

Loan Interviewer/Processor
Eric Cowell

Administrative Assistant
Regina Whittington

Toledo Urban Foundation, Inc. Board of Directors:

Richard G. LaValley, Jr. – President
Sister Pamela Marie Buganski, – Vice President
Frances Smith – Secretary
Deborah G. Beyer – Treasurer
Suzette R. Cowell
Laurie Cantrell
Michael R. Killian, Sr.
John C. Moore
James F. Weber

Toledo Urban Federal Credit Union Board of Directors:

Fletcher Word, President
Frances Smith, Vice President
Suzette Cowell, CEO/ Treasurer
Edwin Mabrey, Secretary
Ray Wood
Debra Miles
Larry Friedman

Adele Jasion – Supervisory Chair

Supervisory Committee
Pastor Jerry Boose
Pastor Timothy Pettaway
Mark Sommer

Toledo Urban Federal Credit Union Member Service Representatives:

Crystal Martinez
Shawn Cowell
Dionne Furr
Aletha Mitchell
Yalonda Richardson
Thomas Stovall, Jr.